The James Home is located in the Historic Edgefield
Community of Nashville which is on the National Register of Historic Places.
According to noted western historians the home housed the
James Family from shortly after the Northfield Bank robbery (Sept. 7, 1876) until March 25, 1881, the day after Bill Ryan,
a James gang member, was captured at Earthman's Saloon in the White's Creek area of Davidson County. The family then
moved to Saint Joseph. During this period Jesse used the name J.D. Howard.
The house was built during the mid 1850s. The front
section of the house is 2 story and the rear section is a single story. The house was abandoned during the 1970s and
subsequently was condemned in 1983. The house was scheduled for demolition in Jan. 1984. The current owner purchased
the house shortly before the demolition. The restoraion of the project took three years to complete.
On May 18, 1989, the Metropolitan Historical Commission awarded
the prestigious Architectural Award for the restoration work on the property. A bronze plaque remains with the house
as long as it is preserved in its historical context.
The James Home has been shown on local and national TV news.
In addition, stories about the house have appeared in numerous books, magazines, and newspapers.